The Sector

The College of Saint Elizabeth's Literary Magazine

Thoughts of Reincarnation: A Curious Soul by Nicole O’Keefe

To think of your existence

What a silly thing

I know

It all seems simple

The fact that you are breathing

Seeing

Smelling

Touching

Listening

Living

But there is so much more

And the day you were born

What a beautiful moment in time

The fresh beating heart of a newly born baby

Eyes glazed over with tears of uncertainty

The transition from

A warm comforting place

The wonderful womb

What a beautiful thing

Needy

Innocent

Unaware

And what about the day you realized you were a breathing living thing

Ever thought of that?

Your brain is now thinking

Trying to capture this vital moment of your life

Did you ever think of it?

And at any moment your life could be taken in a blink of an eye

Oh, it is the scariest thing I could ever imagine

But that’s just typical of a thanataphobian

Fear of death

It’s an interesting thing

And all those years before my life

It so happened to be the lives of others

When I think about this

It gives me chills up my spine

I almost lose hold of reality

My head spins

My vision narrows

Where was I?

Most would say you were not born yet

But no

I was somewhere

Energy does not die

I was somewhere out there

Thriving

In another shape or form

My spirit stayed the same and was always the same

But I just don’t remember

What a thing to think about

Silly

Could be

But no one will ever have the same experience as I

Nor will there ever be any being like me ever again

Not in a hundred years…

Not ever…

I can say it crosses my mind about a thousand times a day

More than I can handle

I freeze and become lost in these aching thoughts

Not knowing what to do at times

Something could be telling me something

But for now

I remain in a form

That I will withhold

And use to enjoy this reincarnated life

Nicole O’Keefe, Class of 2016

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2013 by in 2013-2014: Issue 11, Poetry, Writing and tagged .

Categories